ROAS (Amazon Ads)

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ROAS - Return on Ad Spend and ACOS - Advertising Cost of Sales, are probably one of the most important metrics in Amazon Ads (as in Google Ads): It expresses sales as a fraction of spend (ROAS) or spend as a fraction of sales (ACOS). ROAS and ACOS are each other's reciprocal:


        Sales
ROAS = -------
        Spend

        Spend
ACOS = ------- * 100%
        Sales

ROAS = 1/ACOS

ACOS = 1/ROAS
  • ROAS is expressed as a fraction - not as a percentage
  • ACOS is traditionally expressed as a percentage (so, technically, they are not each other's reciprocal)
  • Spend is ex. VAT
  • Sales includes VAT and shipping. That might inflate this number, as a more intuitive calculation of ROAS (at least, to me), would be ex. VAT and ex. shipping
  • The higher the number, the better

What the numbers mean

ACOS ROAS Remarks
1 1 Sales and spend are equal - Break-even
<1 >1 More sales than spend - Good
>1 <1 More spend than sales - Not good

Examples ROAS

Example 1:

  • Spend: € 20
  • Sales: € 100
  • ROAS = € 100/€ 20 = 5
  • When correcting spend with subtracting 21% VAT and no shipping costs, corrected ROAS would be 4.13 - Quite a difference

Example 2:

  • Spend: € 5
  • Sales: € 2.500
  • ROAS = 500

Example 3:

  • Spend: € 100
  • Sales: € 100
  • ROAS = 1

Example 4:

  • Spend: € 200
  • Sales: € 100
  • ROAS = 0.5

Example 5:

  • Spend can maximally be 25% of sales
  • Sales: € 100
  • Spend: € 25
  • ROAS = 4

Example 6:

  • Spend can maximally be 25% of revenue (here: sales ex VAT)
  • Sales: € 100
  • Spend: € 25
  • Revenue-based ROAS = € 82,64/€ 25 = 3,31 → ROAS is actually 30,25%, not 25%
  • Increase sales by 21%: € 121
  • Spend: € 25
  • Revenue-based ROAS = (sales * 100/121) / spend = 25%
  • Sales-based ROAS = € 121/€ 25 = 4.84
  • So, if max. spend as a percentage, is expressed wrt. revenue rather than sales, the minimum ROAS has to be 21% higher

Examples ACOS

Example (1):

  • The advertisement budget is 25% of sales
  • Example figures: € 100 sales & € 25 spend
  • ACOS = spend/sales = 0.25

Example (2):

  • The advertisement budget is 25% of revenue - Assuming that 21% VAT is the only difference between sales and revenue
  • € 121 sales & € 25 spend
  • ACOS_revenue = (spend * (100/121)) / sales = 0.25
  • Similar to ROAS, sales need to be corrected with the VAT rate - In this case sales has to be 21% higher
  • Corresponding ACOS_sales = 25/121 = 0,2066 = 0,21
  • So, ACOS_sales has to 16% lower than ACOS_revenue.

See also